Criminal charges of Aggravated Assault, Child Abuse, or a Child Endangerment are serious offenses that will be prosecuted to the highest extent of the law by Texas prosecutors. If convicted of such an offense, the punishment will be prescribed by the most stringent felony guidelines.
State of Texas versus YOU
Even minor accusations of child abuse are investigated thoroughly by law enforcement. The penalties and embarrassing circumstances only start there. If there is any mark or bruise on the child, or if you’re in the middle of a custody battle or other legal confrontation where children can be weaponized or used as leverage, you’ll need a good lawyer.
You’ll need a lawyer that knows what it takes to defend a person charged with a serious felony offense against a child. If you or someone you care about are about to be prosecuted for assault of a child or another form of child abuse, contact a licensed Texas criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.
Texas Child Abuse & Assault Cases
Criminal Penalties: An Overview
A person can be charged with “injury to a child” or “child abuse” if they intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly cause bodily injury or any form of mental impairment to the child. Serious bodily injury is also defined in the law as causing a traumatic injury or organ damage or another injury that might cause death.
A person can also be charged with a Misdemeanor or State Jail Felony if they’re charged with protecting the child (acting as their guardian) and fail to protect the child from such trauma.
Depending on the circumstances of the incident, the criminal classification assigned to the accused party can vary widely.
First Degree Felony charges will apply if the offender intentionally caused serious bodily or mental injury to a child. This offense is punishable by a prison sentence of up to 99 years and a fine of up to $10,000.00.
Second Degree Felony charges will apply if the offender caused injuries to the child as a result of recklessness. A conviction for such an offense carries a prison sentence of two to twenty years and a fine of up to $10,000.00.
Third Degree Felony charges will apply if the offender intentionally or knowingly caused injuries to a child. An offense under this criminal classification carries the potential for a prison sentence of 2 to 10 with a fine of up to $10,000.00.
State Jail Felony charges if the child was injured as a result of negligence. State Jail Felony offenses are punishable by a prison sentence of six months to two years state jail and a fine of up to $10,000.00.