If a person is arrested for driving while intoxicated a third time in Texas, there’s a strong possibility the defendant will be charged as a felon. Unlike first and second DWI cases, three time DWI offenders will face prosecution for a felony offense.
However, depending on details involved with the case like the length of time between previous offenses, whether or not the defendant successfully adhered to the demands of the court during probation on previous charges, and the details of the current case being prosecuted in particular, the criminal charges may be downgraded to a Class A Misdemeanor which will keep the defendant out of a Texas Department Of Criminal Justice correctional facility.
Penalties If Convicted Of DWI A Third Time In Texas
Fine: up to $10000
Sentencing Guidelines: 2 to 10 Years TDC.
Other Penalties: Texas Drivers License suspension for a period of two years after release from prison.
According to the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, if a person is granted probation for felony DWI, community service hours may reach or exceed 600 hours, some jail time may be required, and the court may force the defendant into drunk driving and alcohol related educational program aimed at limiting potential recidivism.
Finding The Right Felony DWI Lawyer In Houston
For more information about felony DWI offenses, how to avoid jail/maximum prison sentencing, and potential defenses, we recommend talking with one of the licensed attorneys in our listings, or sending us a message so that we may forward your information to one of the trusted criminal defense attorneys that we work closely with on a daily basis.
Regardless of if you contact H-Town Legal, or one of our recommended attorneys, or not, we strongly recommend that you contact a lawyer in Houston for advice in dealing with your case if you have in fact been charged with DWI in the Houston area.