Instances in which juveniles, persons under the age of 21, are found to have any amount alcohol in their system which driving, criminal charges of DUI will apply.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI), a less severe criminal charge than DWI, is generally applied to underage DUI offending juveniles unless they have an extremely high blood alcohol content level.
In the event that a juvenile is found to be operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated on alcohol, with a blood alcohol content level of over 0.8, they will face the more severe charge of DWI.
Criminal Penalties for DUI
If a person is found guilty in the state of Texas for DUI, they’ll face like criminal charges which amount to a Class C misdemeanor. It should also be noted that the Texas Department of Public Safety will move to suspend the Texas drivers license of the minor, and adults’ too, for that matter, if charged with DUI.
In order to fight the suspension of one’s Texas Drivers License it’s important to understand that you only have about 15 days to request a hearing in which an attempt can be made in court to prevent the suspension.
Monetary penalties also apply in the form of fines which can be assessed up to $500.
The judge may also force the minor to participate in a community service program and drug or alcohol awareness programs, depending on the circumstances of the case. If the minor was intoxicated on alcohol they will likely be forced to participate in an alcohol awareness program, and if the minor was caught with marijuana, or another drug, they may be assigned to a drug treatment program.
Contact An Experienced Houston Lawyer For Help
If your son or daughter has been arrested for DUI, you’ll be making a good decision if you choose to fight the charge in order to keep it off their record, and from affecting them later on, as they move through life. We recommend that you contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Houston, or talk with one of the featured attorneys listed here, on H-Town Legal.